The software is really designed to back everything up and err on the side of over-doing it. However, you can select an image that is in a folder you don't want. After selecting it, uncheck the folder checkbox underneath the preview image area. This is a handy way to remove whole directories of images you don't want. You can clear them out of the list by then clicking "Remove Unchecked"